Graduate Committee


Approved March 2020

A standing committee as a deliberative body for all matters pertaining to Graduate Studies in LA&PS.

As the committee responsible for Graduate Studies and in accordance with the Standards, Rules and Procedures of the Faculty of Graduate Studies, the Graduate Committee:

  1. Promotes and coordinates Graduate Studies in the Faculty;
  2. Coordinates planning and encourages cooperation among graduate programs;
  3. Establishes and maintains standards of graduate student education and graduate student research in LA&PS;
  4. Reviews and recommends to Faculty Council the approval of new graduate academic initiatives including graduate diplomas, graduate programs and fields in existing graduate programs as well as major changes to existing program requirements and matters related to curricular policy and standards;
  5. Reviews curriculum submissions for new course proposals, changes to existing course proposals, as well as non-major and minor changes to degrees/diplomas from LA&PS graduate programs;
  6. Coordinates, discusses, and advises Faculty Council on any other procedures, regulations and policies related to Graduate Studies that are or will be in the purview of LA&PS, such as admission policies, graduate student support, international student matters, and institutional metrics.

Subcommittees may be established by the Graduate Committee as deemed necessary.


Two graduate appointed full-time faculty members from the Humanities

Two graduate appointed full-time faculty members from the Social Sciences

Two graduate appointed full-time faculty members from the Professional Studies

Four graduate students from four different graduate programs housed in the Faculty of LA&PS


Ex-officio (non-voting) members

Associate Dean, Graduate Studies & Research

Manager, Graduate Studies

Chair of Faculty Council or designate

Secretary of Council or designate


Faculty members will be elected for a three-year rolling cycle. Each year, one-third of the membership turns over and will be replaced on a rotational basis by other faculty members from different Schools/Departments who are not already represented on the Committee.

The Chair of the Committee is selected by the voting members of the Committee for a two-year term.

Membership 2020-2021

Chair: Susan Ingram, Department of Humanities

Emilia Nielsen, Department of Social Science
Joanne Jones, School of Administrative Studies
Minoo Derayeh, Department of Equity Studies
Yuk-Lin Renita Wong, School of Social Work
James Corcoran, Department of Languages, Literatures and Linguistics


Student Representatives:

Sarah Midanik, School of Public Policy and Administration

Ex-officio (non-voting) members

Ravi de Costa, Associate Dean, Graduate Studies & Research

Lindsay Gonder, Manager, Graduate Studies

Chair of Faculty Council or designate

Secretary of Council or designate


Scheduled Meeting Dates 2020-2021

The Graduate Committee will normally meet the third Thursday of each month from 1:00 p.m. to 3:00 p.m. For the Faculty Council and Standing Committees Scheduling Document, please click here.


**Rescheduled** September 10, 2020
**Rescheduled** October 22, 2020
November 19, 2020
December 17, 2020
January 21, 2021
**Rescheduled** February 25, 2021
March 25, 2021
April 15, 2021
May 20, 2021
June 17, 2021

Reports & Documents