Tenure and Promotions Committee


Approved June 2014

The procedures of the Tenure and Promotions Committee are governed by the Senate Policy on Tenure and Promotions and the Tenure and Promotions Policy, Criteria and Procedures document.

When constituted as the Tenure and Promotions Committee, the Committee shall:

  1. Liaise with the Senate Committee on Tenure and Promotions to confirm the list of tenure and/or promotion candidates scheduled for consideration, ensuring that timelines are adhered to and making regular reports to the Council on the disposition of files by category;
  2. Make recommendations to the appropriate bodies, as required, on Faculty and University policy concerning tenure and promotion;
  3. Review and report to the Council on tenure and promotion activities;
  4. Review and provide oversight of unit Tenure and Promotion Standards when appropriate.

15 faculty members elected at-large, all of whom shall have tenure, normally at least three of whom are professors or senior lecturers for a three-year term.
Six students appointed by the Student Council of the Liberal Arts & Professional Studies on an annual basis.

Ex-officio (non-voting) members:
Dean or dean’s designate
Chair of Faculty Council or designate
Secretary of Council or designate

Faculty members will be elected at-large for a three-year rolling cycle. Normally, members elected at-large will not be from the same School/Department. Each year, half of the membership turns over and will be replaced on a rotational basis by other faculty members from different Schools/Departments who are not already represented on the Committee. At all times there shall be at least one member from the professional, humanities, and social sciences Departments/Schools.

The Faculty Committee will elect a Chair from among its members for a two-year term. The Committee of the Whole will meet at least twice per year. At least half of the voting members of the Committee constitutes a quorum.

When constituted as the Senate Review Committee, the Committee shall:

  1. Review applications for tenure and/or promotion and will divide into panels each augmented by two members from the Senate Tenure and Promotion Committee. The Senate Review Committee panels will review the recommendations of School/Department Adjudicating Committees to ensure that procedures set out have been followed and that the criteria used in the evaluation of files have been applied fairly and in accordance with University criteria. Senate Review Committees are constituted as sub-committees of the Senate Tenure and Promotion Committee.
  2. Hear substantive appeals of denial of Advancement to Candidacy.

All meetings of the Senate Review Committees shall be restricted to the members of the panel unless candidates whose files are being considered and/or their representative request to appear before it. Deliberations of the panel when reviewing candidate files shall be in camera.

Senate Review Committee Membership:

Panels will consist of at least five faculty members, two representatives from the Senate Committee on Tenure and Promotions, and normally two students. Normally, there shall be at least one member from the professional, humanities, and social sciences Departments/Schools on the panel.

Panel quorum is three elected at-large faculty members plus the two representatives from the Senate Committee. When quorum cannot be met, membership for one panel may be supplemented by members of another panel. Each panel shall select its own Chair from among its tenured faculty members. The Secretary of Council or designate will be the ex-officio member.

Membership 2017-2018

Chair: TBD

Steve Bailey, Department of Humanities
Matthew Brzozowski, Department of Economics
David Goldstein, Department of English
Uwafiokun Idemudia, Department of Social Science
Nick Mule, School of Social Work
Shobna Nijhawan, Department of Languages, Literatures and Linguistics
Nirupama Agrawal, School of Administrative Studies
Andrea McKenzie, Writing Department
Hyun Ok Park, Department of Sociology
Brenda Spotton Visano, Department of Economics
Naomi Couto, School of Public Policy and Administration
James Sheptycki, Department of Social Science

Representatives from SCOLAPS:

Michelle Cobblah
Giang Huong
Naeem Karim
Amanat Khullar
Sadia Kocan
Farhat Malik

Ex-Officio Members (non-voting):

Kathryn McPherson , Associate Dean, Faculty Affairs
Chair of Faculty Council
Anne Stebbins, Secretary of Council

Scheduled Meeting Dates 2017-2018

The Tenure and Promotions Committee will meet several times during the months November to June in three rotating panels. The Committee of the whole normally meets on Thursdays from 11:00am - 1:00pm in Room N926N Ross Building.

November 16, 2017
January 18, 2018
March 22, 2018
May 17, 2018
June 21, 2018

Reports & Documents