Executive Committee


Approved June 2014

In discharging its functions the Committee shall:

  1. Co-ordinate the work of the Council and its committees by:
    1. Directing the flow of Council business including, where appropriate, referring matters to Council committees;
    2. Maintaining oversight of the work of Council committees;
    3. Scheduling the agenda of the Council and approving all matters going before the Council.
  2. Advise and make recommendations to the Council on all matters pertaining to:
    1. The organization of the Council and its committees;
    2. the organization and function of academic governance in the Faculty.
  3. Authorize altering the order of business for any meeting of the Council, provided that the order to be followed is shown on the Notice of Meeting;
  4. Be responsible for the nomination and elections of officers of the Council, members of Council committees, and Faculty representatives on Senate and Senate Committees; regulate the election of students, contract faculty members and CUPE Unit 1 Teaching Assistants, and Professional and Managerial Staff (CPMs) and members of the Faculty support staff (YUSA) to the Council; delegate the nomination and elections to a sub-committee and/or Council staff;
  5. Periodically review the Rules and Procedures and governance structure of the Council or its committee system, and recommend amendments to the above for the approval of the Council;
  6. In the case of the absence or illness of the Chair and the Vice-Chair, appoint one of the members of the Council to act as Chair pro tempore and for such period the member so appointed shall act as, and have all the powers of, the Chair;
  7. Serve as a summer authority following Senate practice, and act on behalf of the Council from the last meeting of the Council in the spring, to the first meeting of the Council in the fall;
  8. Establish special committees to deal with matters of general concern that do not fall within the accepted area of jurisdiction of an existing committee, with the approval of the Council; perform oversight and report to the Council on the creation of ad hoc sub-committees by Council committees. When such special or ad-hoc committees are formed regularly, consider recommending that they be approved as committees of the Council or sub-committees of a committee of Council;
  9. Negotiate with the President the procedures for Decanal searches in the Faculty.

Chair of Faculty Council (who shall Chair the meetings) for a one-year term
Vice-Chair of Council
Six faculty members elected at-large for a three-year term
Three students appointed by the Student Council of the Liberal Arts & Professional Studies on an annual basis

Ex-officio (non-voting) members
Dean or dean’s designate
Faculty of Liberal Arts & Professional Studies representative on the Executive Committee of Senate,
Secretary of Council or designate

Faculty members will be elected at-large for a three-year rolling cycle. Members elected at-large will not be from the same School/Department. Each year, one-third of the membership turns over and will be replaced on a rotational basis by other faculty members from different Schools/Departments who are not already represented on the Committee. At all times there shall be at least one member from each of the professional, humanities, and social sciences Departments/Schools.

At least half of the voting members of the Committee, the majority of whom are full-time faculty members, constitutes a quorum.

Membership 2018-2019

Chair: Markus Reisenleitner, Department of Humanities
Vice-Chair: Minoo Derayeh,  Department of Equity Studies

Ida Ferrara, Department of Economics
Leslie Sanders, Writing Department
Andrea Davis, Department of Humanities
Nelson Waweru, School of Administrative Studies
Peter Khaiter, School of Information Technology
Robert Kenedy, Department of Sociology

Representatives from SCOLAPS:

Ashtha Bagga
Ajay Rakhra
Emily Miller

Ex-Officio Members (non-voting):

Dean, LA&PS
Carl S. Ehrlich, LA&PS representative on the Executive Committee of Senate
Colin McMahon, Secretary of Council

Scheduled Meeting Dates 2018-2019

The Executive Committee will normally meet the last Wednesday of each month (September – June) from 12:00 p.m. to 2:00 p.m. in Room N926N, Ross Building.

2018/2019 Committee Meeting Dates
September 26, 2018
October 31, 2018
November 28, 2018
December 19, 2018
January 30, 2019
February 27, 2019
March 27, 2019
April 24, 2019
May 29, 2019
June 26, 2019


Reports & Documents