Committee on Teaching, Learning and Student Success


Approved June 2014

In discharging its functions the Committee shall:

  1. Develop policies to give recognition for effective teaching and other contributions that strengthen the learning and teaching environment in the Faculty:
    1. Periodically review teaching awards and grants.
    2. Publicize LA&PS teaching excellence widely and encourage LA&PS faculty members to apply for other teaching awards.
    3. Appoint members to the Dean's Awards for Teaching Excellence Adjudication Sub-Committee who will recommend candidates to the Dean.
  2. Support a culture of effective and excellent teaching and learning:
    1. Promote best practices that foster effective teaching and deep learning that are appropriate to different teaching and learning formats, including those tailored to specific constituencies (mature students, English as a second language [ESL] students, students with special needs) and in non-traditional formats (e.g. Internet, evening, compressed semesters, hybrid, experiential education);
    2. Recommend policies for disseminating information about best teaching practices.
    3. Identify emerging priorities in relation to student learning.
    4. Monitor major research and publications on student learning for significant findings that might improve current LA&PS policies.
    5. Advocate the development of appropriate resources and programs to enhance teaching and learning among all teaching staff, including teaching assistants, contract faculty, and tenure-stream faculty.
    6. Promote faculty and graduate students’ participation in teaching and learning activities and their access to teaching and learning resources.
  3. In tandem with the Dean and in close consultation with Departments/Schools oversee the implementation/coordination of support of teaching and learning within the Faculty.
      1. Recommend a statement of meaningful learning outcomes in LA&PS.
      2. Develop policies to ensure learning goals and outcomes become an integral part of LA&PS culture and a prominent part of LA&PS’ profile in the wider community.
      3. In collaboration with other Council committees on issues of joint concern, ensure alignment among Degree-level Expectations, other Faculty policies and the overall teaching and learning goals of LA&PS.
      4. Monitor and assess LA&PS academic policies to reflect changes in the higher education environment, significant developments in research on learning and teaching in higher education, and changes in student preparedness.
      5. Report annually to the Faculty Council on priorities and policy recommendation to enhance the teaching and learning in LA&PS.
  4. Recommend policies that promote effective assessment of teaching and learning:
    1. Encourage the development of validated course evaluations that yield high-quality information to support ongoing teaching development and decision-making.
    2. Recommend protocols for monitoring and assessing the administration of course evaluations and recommend changes as necessary.
    3. In consultation with the Dean's office, identify broad patterns in course evaluation results to identify areas of excellence as well as areas that need improvement and recommend appropriate policies.
    4. Recommend best practices in the development of formative and summative assessments.
    5. Recommend policies for the appropriate dissemination of evaluation results.
  5. Promote academic integrity within LA&PS and adjudicate academic honesty cases that are unresolved at the unit level:
    1. Review on an annual basis policies and procedures on Academic Honesty at the School/Departmental and Faculty level, and act in accordance with the Senate policies to promote academic integrity within the Faculty;
    2. Give direction in accordance with the Senate Policy on Academic Honesty on procedures to Schools/Departments so that their procedures embody the appropriate standard of fairness and natural justice;
    3. Collaborate with the Curriculum, Curricular Policy and Standards Committee on issues of joint concern and recommend as appropriate proactive, educative, and policy measures at the Faculty and School/Departmental levels.
    4. Hearing Panels will be constituted by members from the full Committee to adjudicate cases of academic honesty that are unresolved at the unit level in accordance with the Senate Policy on Academic Honesty.

Nine full-time faculty members elected-at large for a three-year term
Two graduate teaching assistants elected at-large on an annual basis
One contract faculty member elected at-large on an annual basis
Three students appointed by the Student Council of the Liberal Arts & Professional Studies on an annual basis

Full-time faculty members will be elected at-large for a three-year rolling cycle. Members elected at-large will not be from the same School/Department. Each year, one-third of the membership turns over and will be replaced on a rotational basis by other faculty members from different Schools/Departments who are not already represented on the Committee.

The Chair of the Committee is selected by the voting members of the Committee for a two-year term.

At least half of the voting members of the Committee, the majority of whom are full-time faculty members, constitutes a quorum.

Ex-officio (non-voting) members
Dean or dean’s designate
Representative from E-services
Director of the Teaching Commons or designate
Director of the Learning Commons or designate
Representative from Academic Advising
Chair of Faculty Council or designate
Secretary of Council or designate

Dean’s Awards for Teaching Excellence Adjudication Sub-Committee Membership:

Faculty members who have distinguished themselves in teaching including:
One full-time faculty member from the humanities
One full-time faculty member from the social sciences
One full-time faculty member from professional studies
One contract faculty member
One undergraduate student representative recommended by the LA&PS Student Council

One Teaching Assistant
One ex-officio representative from the Teaching and Learning Committee who will report on the process of deliberation.

Academic Honesty Hearing Panel Membership:

Panels will have three voting members of whom two are full-time faculty members and one is an undergraduate student. An Associate Dean acts as the Faculty Presenter during these hearings and presents the allegations and evidence of breach(es) of the Senate Policy on Academic Honesty.

Membership 2018-2019

Chair: Judy Pelham, Department of Philosophy

Ron Ophir, School of Human Resource Management
Megan Davies, Department of Social Science
Awalou Ouedraogo, Department of Equity Studies
Jon Sufrin, Writing Department
Jakeet Singh, Department of Politics 
Gordana Colby, Department of Economics
Shobna Nijhawan, Department of Languages Literatures and Linguistics
Shirley Roburn, Department of Communication Studies

Contract Faculty Representative:

Sirvan Karimi

Teaching Assistant Representatives:

Virginia Grimaldi
Joanna Pearce

Representatives from SCOLAPS:

Lucas Amello
Christina Mounts
Trevor J. York

Ex-Officio Members (non-voting):

Peter Avery, Associate Dean, Students
Dimitris Keramidas, Representative from E-services
Yelin Su, Representative from the Teaching Commons
Sophie Bury, Representative from the Learning Commons
Chair of Faculty Council
Coordinator, Committees and Awards

Scheduled Meeting Dates 2018-2019

The Committee on Teaching and Learning and Student Success will normally meet on the first Monday of each month (September - June) from 11:30 am to 1:00 pm in Room N926N, Ross Building.

September 17, 2018*
October 1, 2018
November 5, 2018
December 3, 2018
January 14, 2019
February 4, 2019
March 4, 2019
April 1, 2019
May 6, 2019
June 3, 2019

*The September meeting will take place on the third Monday due to a scheduling conflict

Reports & Documents