Committee on Student Academic Petitions and Appeals


Approved June 2014

When constituted as the Petitions Committee, the Committee shall:

  1. Track statistical data and, in light of them, make recommendations to Council on policy matters and procedures relating to student academic petitions.

16 faculty members elected at-large for a two-year term
Eight students appointed by the Student Council of the Liberal Arts & Professional Studies on an annual basis

Ex-officio (non-voting) members
Dean or dean’s designate
Chair of Faculty Council or designate
Secretary of Council or designate

Faculty members will be elected at-large for two-year rolling cycle. Each year, half of the membership turns over and will be replaced on a rotational basis. Normally, no more than 2 members elected at-large will be from the same School/Department.  The Chair of the Committee is selected by the voting members of the Committee for a one-year term. At all times there shall be at least one member from each of the professional, humanities, and social sciences Departments/Schools. Units will self-identify as one of the following: humanities, social science, or professional studies, reported to the Council Office by January 1.

At least half of the voting members of the Committee, the majority of whom are full-time faculty members, constitutes a quorum.

When constituted as the Petitions Adjudications Committee, the Committee shall:

  1. Receive and act on student academic petitions and grade reappraisal appeals, including petitions against the application of Faculty, Departmental and School rules and regulations;
  2. Meet in panels for consideration of cases for the adjudication of petitions and appeals against previous committee decisions.

Petitions Adjudication Committee Membership:

Panels will consist of six voting members of whom two are students, elected by and from the Committee on Student Academic Petitions. Normally, a panel will have at least three members to adjudicate student academic petitions, of whom one must be a student. During the summer months, or when quorum requirements cannot otherwise be met, membership may be supplemented by a reserve membership drawn from among former members of the Committee.

There shall be no ex-officio members.

Membership 2018-2019

Chair: Deborah Davidson, Department of Sociology

Annette Bickford, Department of Social Science
Jacqueline Ng, Department of Languages, Literatures and Linguistics
Brian Huss, Department of Philosophy
Henry Tam, Department of Economics
Jessica Li, Department of Languages, Literatures and Linguistics
Ozgun Topak, Department of Social Science
Marlene Bernholtz, Writing Department
Sandra Widmer, Department of Anthropology
Saskia Van Viegen, Department of Languages, Literatures and Linguistics
Laura Kwak, Department of Social Science
Louise Morrison, Department of French Studies
Mary Goitom, School of Social Work
Tuulia Law, Department of Social Science
Stefan Roddde, Department of Philosophy
Mark Podolsky, School of Human Resource Management

Representatives from SCOLAPS:

Robert Cornell
Keith Davis
Dylan Gruspier
Derek Ha
Larayb Razzaq
Moshe Savitsky
Deanna Shootsterman
Trevor J. York

Ex-Officio Members (non- voting):

Peter Avery, Associate Dean, Students
Chair of Faculty Council or designate
Cathy Genua, Petitions Coordinator
Stephen Davis, Petitions Officer

Scheduled Meeting Dates 2018-2019

The Committee will normally meet twice a week every other week on Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday & Thursday in four rotating panels.

Reports & Documents